Home
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
5:20:07 AM
Users online: 0   You are here >> Home > Networking

Forums | Networking Forums search
Forum FAQ
   
  1  
Wireless help, can see network but no internet.
Director 
17/8/08 11:43:31 AM
Hero
Immortal


Bah. I give in. Ok I have this ACER aspire 1640 laptop here ATM (Win xp). If I plug a cable into the network plug from the router it works, I can get the internet etc no probs. The wireless is all screwed up though it will connect to the router no probs and gets full strength signal but I can connect to the WWW or email at all. I have had other wirless PC's connect up to the router with no probs so it's not the router. I'm running out of ideas. Any suggestions?

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

tantryl 
17/8/08 12:14:44 PM
SuperHero
Immortal


Does it get a DHCP IP?

Can you ping the router?

Can you access the routers web configuration page?

-----
Well, I guess we learned something today. It's wrong to eat veal because the animals are so horribly mistreated, but if you don't eat meat at all you break out in vaginas. - Stan Marsh

Director 
17/8/08 12:42:39 PM
Hero
Immortal


Yes.
NO.
NO.


Could it be a firewall issue? They only have windows FW running and as I said when I hook up the network cable everything works fine.

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

eckythump 
17/8/08 12:45:36 PM
Overlord

Turn off all firewalls and other security stuff until you get it sorted.

Start simple. Get it going and then turn those things back on.

If you're getting full signal, and if you're able to associate with the AP then you should be able to just request an IP via DHCP and you should be sweet. When you get connected to the AP, what details show up if you go into a command prompt (start -> run -> "cmd") and type in "ipconfig"?

Pay attention to the default gateway. You should be able to "ping a.b.c.d" where a.b.c.d is the default gateway IP.

See how you go with all of that, and we'll take it from there.

-----
"Grandfather had an accident, he got burnt." "Oh no, how bad?" "Well, they don't fuck around at the crematorium."

Director 
17/8/08 1:03:29 PM
Hero
Immortal


OK disabled windows FW and was able to ping the router. Went to IE and tried to login to the router and I got the password page, it looked like it was going to load, then 'page not available' again, then I couldn't ping the router any more either. Waited a a minute or so and could ping the router again. Tried to log in again through IE no good and then couldn't PING it again.

Something strange and intermittent is going on here. (Also tried firefox, same result.)

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

Master_Scythe 
17/8/08 1:50:59 PM
Titan

as i recommended to someone else in anothr thread:

go into device manager of the wireless card, HALVE the MTU size. see what happens.

-----
4200+X2 939, ASUS A8N-SLI-D, Ati HD3850, 1gb,1tb total HDD, 109 DVD, LG DVD-rom.
Quote by Girvo
I've got a wicked tiny one that is ridiculously sensitive.



segger 
17/8/08 3:02:49 PM
Guru

What firewall software do you have installed? If it's anything other than Windows firewall then I'd suggest uninstalling it completely (and only limited as such because Windows firewall can't be uninstalled).

Post the output from 'ipconfig /all'

Issue a 'ping -t <router ipaddr>' and let it run for a couple of minutes. Note if there's any pattern to the series of packet drops.

-----
Random spam line #7:
Give her womb a good massage with your newly augmented pole

Director 
17/8/08 4:45:12 PM
Hero
Immortal


"go into device manager of the wireless card, HALVE the MTU size. see what happens. "

There is no option to do that. Any options that I change within that section do not stay as I change them but revert back to their defaults. I have reinstalled the wireless card drivers. (Intel pro/wireless 2200bg).

Tried a ping -t first three attempts timed out, next 3 worked 'ttl=64'. The rest just keep timing out.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-77636ef25d
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-7B-BE-04
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 17 August 2008 1:09:22 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 18 August 2008 1:09:22 PM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-04-EA-04


And here's what I got from netstat and the ping-t log in case you get any clues from that.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n

Wireless Network Connection 2:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.6] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
ACER-77636EF25D<00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
ACER-77636EF25D<20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n

Wireless Network Connection 2:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.6] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
ACER-77636EF25D<00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
ACER-77636EF25D<20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping -t 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.






Edited by Director: 17/8/2008 05:05:32 PM

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

aliali 
17/8/08 9:11:32 PM
SuperHero
Immortal


May be as as simple as an incompatibility between the acer and the router wireless devices, seen that once or twice.
However a couple of things I would try first.
Turn off any wireless security temporarily, set the wireless to fixed 802.11b 11Mbps mode and try a different channel (some cards are reputed to have issues with channel 12 or 13).


-----
Quote by superfireydave
People: "Oooh dinosaurs!"
Dinosaurs: NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM
People: "Ahhh dinosaurs!"



bowiee 
18/8/08 5:26:04 AM
Hero
Titan


Quote by aliali
May be as as simple as an incompatibility between the acer and the router wireless devices, seen that once or twice.
However a couple of things I would try first.
Turn off any wireless security temporarily, set the wireless to fixed 802.11b 11Mbps mode and try a different channel (some cards are reputed to have issues with channel 12 or 13).





Oh yea I have a linksys wireless-g access point and had the same sort of problems as director with my laptop. I changed the w/point to channel 6 and hey presto instant network and internet connection and no drop outs/half connections from then on.

-----
"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein.
"Note to self....Don't feed the trolls"




Director 
18/8/08 6:03:52 AM
Hero
Immortal


Champions!

Set the router to 820,11 only and the channel to 6 and now everything is sweet.

Thanks guys!

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

aliali 
18/8/08 10:17:36 AM
SuperHero
Immortal


Quote by Director
Champions!

Set the router to 820,11 only and the channel to 6 and now everything is sweet.

Thanks guys!



802.11b or 802.11g?

B is only a max of 11Mbp/s whereas G is a max of 54Mbp/s (well theoretically they are), so I would be trying to get the higher speed if possible.
Most likely it was the channel change that fixed the issue as you may have had interference from a cordless phone or the like (or even another nearby wireless network). For some reason quite a few wireless routers seem to be set to channels 12 or 13 as the default and as these two are not used in the USA and Canada they seem to give some funny issues with some wireless cards.

Anyway glad you got it working, now secure the bloody thing with decent encryption and security please. WPA-PSK2 if the hardware can handle it.

-----
Quote by superfireydave
People: "Oooh dinosaurs!"
Dinosaurs: NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM
People: "Ahhh dinosaurs!"



Director 
18/8/08 1:07:47 PM
Hero
Immortal


meh, dont need security out here, the nearest neighbours are 100 metres away.

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

aliali 
18/8/08 9:30:11 PM
SuperHero
Immortal


Quote by Director
meh, dont need security out here, the nearest neighbours are 100 metres away.


That's well within range of a decent directional antenna dude.
My nearest neighbour (excluding my aged mum) is about 700 metres away and I still use security on the wireless. Best practice and all that.
:P

-----
Quote by superfireydave
People: "Oooh dinosaurs!"
Dinosaurs: NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM
People: "Ahhh dinosaurs!"



Director 
19/8/08 1:08:18 PM
Hero
Immortal


Yah fair enough, I'll turn him on just to be safe.

(the security, not the neighbour. )

-----
A challenge to a perceived consensus is a challenge to all the powers in human society, as it can take a person’s understanding of the world we live in, and flip it upside down.

  1  
Forums | Networking